The United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020 at midnight (Brussels time)

EU respects, but regrets the decision of the United Kingdom. The European Union and the United Kingdom have undergone intense negotiations to agree on the conditions for the withdrawal of Great Britain. The result of the negotiations is the Agreement on the Withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community. A period of transition began on February 1, 2020. This time-limited period was agreed as part of the Withdrawal Agreement and will last until at least December 31, 2020. During the transition period, all EU law, across all policy areas, will still be applicable to and in the United Kingdom, with the exception of provisions of the Treaties and acts, which were not binding upon in the United Kingdom before the entry into force of the Withdrawal Agreement. The same is true for acts amending such acts. The exact terms of the transition period are set out in Part Four of the Withdrawal Agreement.
Uniunea Europeană și Regatul Unit vor folosi aceste luni (perioada de tranziție) pentru a conveni asupra unui nou parteneriat ambițios pentru viitor, bazat pe Declarația politică convenită între UE și Regatul Unit în octombrie 2019.

Useful links